12 weeks and counting…

We had our first appointment with the obstetrician on Friday!  It took a lot longer than I expected…

We arrived a little early to fill out the paperwork that’s always involved in a first visit.  And then we waited…

There were quite a few people waiting when we arrived.  Well, not that many really, but the waiting area isn’t that big, so it felt quite full.

Eventually, we were the last ones left waiting.  And still we waited…

About an hour after we arrived (40 mins after our appointment time), we finally got to see the midwife who works with our OB.  She ran us through all the formalities – took a history, measured my weight and blood pressure, gave us an information folder to bring home and talked through things like food safety, exercise, etc.

Then we went back to the waiting area to wait a bit more…

When we finally saw the OB, I was very glad that she didn’t rush us through.  She took the time to go through things and was overall quite calming, so I think she’ll be good for my typical frantically nervous state.

She did a scan, as predicted.  Berry is now big enough to pick up with an abdominal scan, even with her not-so-flash machine.  I can’t tell you how excited I was to get an ultrasound without having to take my pants off!  I could even keep my shoes on!

Berry is now measuring 2 days ahead and the OB said that, since we are very certain about the dates for the IVF, she thinks he/she will be tall.  The heart rate was 159 bpm, but we didn’t get to hear it.  We finally got a couple of pictures to bring home, but, to be honest, they’re tiny and indistinct and it’s hard to see anything.  While she was doing the scan, we could see bub kicking and moving around.  I was just floored by the kicking – it was amazing to see those little legs stretch out and then tuck back up!  I can’t wait until I can feel it!!

For now, we see the OB every 4 weeks and the midwife said they will only do scans regularly if there’s a problem.  Otherwise, it will just depend on where we’re up to and how busy they are on the day.

But fortunately, we don’t have to wait long for our next scan.  Our NT scan is booked for Tuesday.  That’s only 2 days away now.  The OB said the place we’re going to will do a 3D/4D scan and that we’ll get a DVD, so I can’t wait!

Since we should be getting such great pictures in just a couple of days, I figure you won’t mind waiting for those, instead of me scanning in the teeny-tiny ones we’ve got now?

5 Responses to “12 weeks and counting…”

  1. Can’t wait to see the pics of Berry!!

    The scans were my favourite part.

    Sxxx

  2. Ben Wakeling Says:

    It’s good that you had a considerate sonographer. So many nowadays just want you out of the room ASAP!

    • Our OB actually did the scan herself. Our NT scan was actually the first time I’ve ever had someone other than one of my Drs do a scan. The sonographers (we ended up with 2) were great for the NT scan! We were watching bub for about an hour. Definitely didn’t rush us out.

  3. Thats so exciting! I have my first OB appt Friday….but they said it was just for a physical and Pap with the nurse practitioner. I hope I get an US too! I need a little peace of mind!

Leave a Reply

