dinner and a drive…

I’ve been waiting almost a week to write this post.  I wanted to put the photos in, but I used my parents’ camera and they finally emailed the photos to me today!

Last Tuesday was my Mum’s birthday (36, she tells me!) and we went out to the French restaurant she’s been raving about for the last year.  I’ve got to say, the food was delicious!

DH and my Dad ordered from the menu, but Mum and I decided to go for one of the set menus (the most expensive one of course!).  Of course, the one we picked was a 4 course meal!  Needless to say, we’d bitten off more than we could chew, but we made a damned good effort at it!

We started with a duck terrine (sorry, no photo), which was nice but I can’t say it excited me.  Next on the menu was oysters.  I didn’t feel like those so they were kind enough to substitute a French Onion Soup for me.  I’d been wanting to try a proper French Onion Soup for a while, so I was very glad to have the opportunity.  I was a little surprised when it arrived.  Whenever I’ve seen French Onion Soup on tv, etc, it’s been a relatively small serve.  This is what turned up:

It was huge!  And, for the record, it was delicious!!!

The two entrées were followed by a sorbet and then the main I’d been waiting for – duck!  I love duck!  I’ve loved it ever since the first time I had it at around 8yo!  However, I was astounded by just how much meat there was on the plate:

That’s apple underneath the duck and the orange thing was some sort of pumpkin thing, but I have no idea how it was made because it stood up by itself.  The gravy and the mushrooms were soooo rich that I couldn’t finish it all, but it was fantastic!  I’ve never seen so much boneless duck on one plate though and I’m still impressed!

After all of that came dessert.  The menu we’d selected included a sample plate of desserts.  It included 2 sorbets, some apple tart, chocolate mousse, crème brûlée and some sort of rum-soaked cake:

OMG, talk about divine!  The mousse was too rich to finish and I ended up leaving most of it.  I wasn’t overly fussed on the cake, but the sorbet and apple tart were lovely.  But it was the crème brûlée that stole the show for me!  If we go back, I’ll be ordering one of those next time!

We may have spent almost $300 on a meal for 4 people, but I honestly felt it was worth every cent!  So, if you find yourself in Brisbane, check out La Provence at Coorparoo!

Oh, yeah, I called this “dinner and a drive…”, so where’s the drive?  Well, before dinner we did some quick shoe shopping in search of shoes for me to wear to my sister’s wedding.  DH and my Dad went to look at other things in our car, which left Mum and I with their car.  Since it was her birthday, Mum didn’t feel like driving, so I got to drive their car.  They have a Nissan Patrol 4×4 and I’d only driven it once before (on the open road, not in a poky carpark!), so it was very different to our medium-sized sedan!  But I managed to not scratch it or dent it or otherwise decrease its value.  It did take me a few goes to reverse into the first carpark we went to though…  Good thing no-one was watching!

One Response to “dinner and a drive…”

  1. omg- looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

