experimental cooking…

Isn’t it wonderful when it works!?!

I’ve had this image in my head for weeks of a dish I wanted to cook.  I just wasn’t sure how to.  I didn’t quite get there tonight (didn’t even have some of the ingredients in my mental image), but it wasn’t a bad first pass.  There’s just plenty of room for improvement.

So, tonight’s chicken and vegetable rice dish… kind of like a risotto, but with brown rice instead of arborio rice…  And none of that “add one cup of stock at a time” crap – I know it’s worth it for the real deal (and I’d have done it for arborio rice), but I was hoping this would work without that.

What I used:

2 double chicken breasts (ie 4 in total), diced
1/2 red capsicum, finely chopped
1 brown onion, diced
1-2 cloves of garlic, crushed
2 tbsp butter
2 cups brown rice
1 litre chicken stock
1 carrot, sliced
1/2 floret broccoli, cut into bite-size pieces
4 large-ish mushrooms, sliced

What I did:

Melt the butter in a frying pan (I used the 3/4 heat setting).  Add the garlic, onion and capsicum and cook for a few minutes.  Add the chicken and cook until browned.  Add the rice, stir through, cook for a couple of minutes and then add the stock.  (Well, at this point I added half the stock, realised my pan wasn’t big enough, transferred it all to the boiler and then added the rest of the stock.  Note to self: next time use the wok…)  Cover, turn down the heat (I turned it down to 1/4) and stir periodically.  (I came back to check it every time I heard the lid rattling.)  When the rice has absorbed most of the stock (this took over 45 minutes tonight), add the remaining vegetables on top but don’t stir them through.  Cover and continue to cook until the vegetables are cooked.  (I left it about 15 minutes and when I came back I found I’d managed to burn the bottom of the boiler – note to self: watch it at the end).  Stir everything together and it’s ready to serve.

I think it will probably end up being about 4-6 serves, so we should be covered for the next 3 meals in this house!  Since we ate dinner hours ago, we aren’t having any tonight.  I cooked it because the chicken needed to be cooked.  Now I just need it to cool down enough to go in the fridge without melting everything around it so that I can put it away and go to bed!

Leave a Reply

