Calling all cooks!

So, yesterday I was chatting to some friends online and one of them said they were having chicken casserole and rice for dinner.  Ever since then I have been craving chicken casserole and rice!  I love chicken.  I love casseroles.  And I love rice!

The catch?  Our oven is on the fritz.  It’s a long story, but to summarise…  Our oven stopped working.  We contacted the manufacturer and got someone to come out and “fix” it.  They said we needed some parts, which we ordered and paid for and were due to arrive 2 weeks later.  One week later the company went into receivership.  No parts.  Now, we’re talking $12 worth of parts here, so I’m not overly bothered by the lack of plastic rings (which I wasn’t convinced would fix the thing anyway) for which I have paid.  What does upset me is the idea we may have to pay $3000 to replace the oven when it supposedly just needs $12 worth of parts to be in working order again.  Not to mention the modifications we’d have to make to the kitchen cabinets because it’s built-in and all the current models I’ve found are about 5mm taller than the one we have.  It’s enough to make you scream!!

So, back to the casserole…  What I’m looking for is a nice creamy chicken casserole that I can cook on the stove.  I don’t have a lot in the way of cookware, but my options are:

  • normal saucepan/boiler – thin metal, etc…
  • electric frypan – we’ve got one somewhere, been so long since we used it that it may not work anymore?
  • a Chasseur 28cm (6.3L) casserole dish – saved the best for last, cast iron, enamel, French – what more can I say?

DH gave me the Chasseur for Christmas and it is the best!!  I’ve only used it a couple of times (and only in the oven), but I think it’s my best candidate for this task!  The one below is just like mine!!

So, if there’s actually anyone out there reading, please help me out and point me in the direction of a good chicken casserole recipe that I can cook on the (electric) stove!  If it’s got corn in it you win bonus points!  If it’s tomato-based you’ll be disqualified…

One Response to “Calling all cooks!”

  1. MissyMae Says:

    Hi J! Try this one… saute together 1 lb of diced chicken breast, 2 large vidalia onions diced, 5 cloves garlic, minced (i love garlic!) & a couple handfuls of sliced mushrooms. Mix in 2 cans of cream of chicken soup & heat through. Mix with about 2 cups of steamed white rice (cook it w/ chicken boullion for extra flavor) & stir in some fresh chopped parsley & scallions. Quick, easy, yummers. I’ve got an AMAZING chicken pot pie recipe for you when your oven gets back to working! TTYS!

    Missy

Leave a Reply

